a programming note

I am going away this week (I am going camping! Wheee!) and will not have internet. But I scheduled a set of posts anyway, about some of the tools & strategies I have found useful. Before they make their appearance, I think it’s worth mentioning that there are several audiences I keep in mind when I write. With the following few posts, the one I am most conscious of is my future self.

It is possible (perhaps likely) that I will someday find myself drinking far too much again. I’m not trying to be pessimistic, just aware of the fact that I have never permanently changed my drinking habits before, and it’s a hard thing to do, so it’s not unlikely that I may find myself sunk deep into excessive drinking again at some future point.

Some of my writing, therefore, is intended as a trail of breadcrumbs for that possible future self. I am very fond of her. Maybe writing about the things that worked for me this time around will help her treat herself gently, and find her way back more quickly. Maybe not…no pressure, future self!

In other words, my tools & strategies posts, written for myself, about myself, may be even more solipsistic than the rest of this blog. For everyone who is not future-me: I apologize. One of the most genuinely fascinating things to me about MM is discovering that other people have completely different tools, strategies, and experiences, in spite of how much we all share. Which means that what works for me might not work for you, and vice versa. If I could write a guide to how to get this exactly right, from the start, I would…but I can’t even figure that out for myself. Take what you like, find the interesting bits, build your own breadcrumb highway, add a comment about other strategies you like, or sit patiently and wait for camping stories, whatever works best for you.

Phew, disclaimer over.

Leave a Reply

