July review/August plans

My July plan was as follows:

My July goal is to stick to “by the book” moderation, which means following the Moderation Management limits. For women, that means no more than three drinks on any occasion, no more than four drinking occasions per week, and no more than nine drinks in any week. Those are limits, not goals — I intend to drink below those limits most occasions/weeks.

To provide some additional encouragement for myself, I am going to aim for a “BTB 30,” which is 30 days of consecutive by-the-book moderation. Like the 30+ that I used to kick off my attempts to change my drinking habits, I hope that aiming for “perfection” for a predetermined period of time helps me figure out a few specific things, especially with regard to my triggers for occasional over-drinking.

In July, I met all my goals, and for the most part, it felt easy.

Overall, I enjoyed 10.5 drinks, spread out over 6 occasions. Each week, I was well within BTB guidelines, and I did not have more than three drinks on any day. July was an unqualified success, which I have discussed further in an upcoming six month celebratory post.

I completed my mini-challenge, a BTB 30, in July, although it felt less exciting than I’d hoped. It happened easily, as part of the flow of the month and the result of improved day-to-day skills and strategies. Still, I am proud of myself, and I think it is important to celebrate all the successes, not just fixate on the struggles.


My August goal is to continue to stay within recommended alcohol intake ranges, which for me means following the Moderation Management guidelines. For women, that means 0-4 drinking occasions per week, 0-3 drinks on any occasion, and 0-9 drinks in any week.

I intend to continue to keep alcohol out of the house, for the most part. I have several travel/vacation plans upcoming in August, which will require some thought as they approach. I do not expect August to feel as easy as July did, but I plan to continue the skills and strategies which have been working so well for me.

Leave a Reply

